Responsible Investment

Our Commitment

As a long-term investor in growing businesses, Motion Equity Partners has always been particularly sensitive to any factors that might affect, positively or negatively, the performance of its investments.

To this end, we are convinced that an efficient management of Environmental, Social and Governance issues at every stage of our investment process will improve the performance of our portfolio companies, improve their risk profile as well as generate new growth opportunities, and in the end create sustainable value for all stakeholders.

Our Approach

In order to formalise and reinforce its commitment to ESG issues, Motion Equity Partners has defined a structured approach which guides its actions at every stage of the investment cycle (acquisition, development and exit phases). Our commitment is embodied in a dedicated ESG Charter:

  • We commit to incorporate ESG issues in our investment process
  • We commit to actively incorporate ESG issues in our ownership practices
  • We commit to be transparent with our investors on ESG practices and performance
  • We commit to continuously raise ESG awareness and develop the ESG skills of our teams

The full version of our ESG Charter can be downloaded here

Activity

Chain of stores specialized in pet products.

ESG impact of Motion Equity Partners

Under Motion Equity Partners’ guidance, the Management team has put a clear emphasis on social and environmental issues, in particular on the sustainable sourcing of products and on energy optimisation within its network of stores. In 2015, Arcaplanet has formalized this commitment with the definition of a code of ethics and the issue of its first ESG report.

Motion Equity Partners is a signatory of the United Nation’s Principles for Responsible Investment, and of the Charter of Commitments for Investors in Growth of the French Private Equity Association (France Invest, ex-AFIC). We have also reaffirmed our commitment to fight against climate change with our decision to sign the Initiative Climate (IC20).

Investissement responsable

Notre engagement

En tant qu’investisseur de long terme dans des entreprises prometteuses, Motion Equity Partners a toujours été sensible à tout facteur pouvant influencer, positivement ou négativement, la performance de ses investissements.

Dans cette perspective, nous sommes convaincus qu’un suivi rigoureux des critères Environnementaux, Sociaux et de Gouvernance (ESG) tout au long du cycle d’investissement permet d’améliorer la performance de nos participations, d’améliorer leur profil de risque, de générer de nouvelles opportunités de croissance, et de créer ainsi de la valeur pour toutes les parties prenantes.

Notre démarche

De manière à formaliser et à renforcer notre engagement sur les enjeux ESG, Motion Equity Partners a mis en place une approche structurée qui sert de guide pour les actions entreprises à chaque phase du cycle d’investissement (acquisition, développement et sortie). Notre engagement se traduit par une Charte ESG officielle, dont les principes fondateurs sont les suivants :

  • Nous nous engageons à intégrer les enjeux ESG dans notre processus d’investissement
  • Nous nous engageons à intégrer activement les enjeux ESG dans nos pratiques d’actionnariat
  • Nous nous engageons à être transparents vis-à-vis de nos investisseurs sur nos pratiques et performance ESG
  • Nous nous engageons à sensibiliser nos équipes et à développer leurs compétences en matière d’enjeux ESG

La version complète de notre Charte ESG est disponible ici

Notre impact ESG

Activité

Chaîne de magasins spécialisée dans les produits pour animaux de compagnie.

Impact ESG de Motion Equity Partners

Sous l’impulsion de Motion Equity Partners, l’équipe dirigeante a mis l’accent sur les questions sociales et environnementales, et en particulier sur la mise en place d’une politique d’achats responsable et sur l’optimisation de la consommation d’énergie au sein du parc de magasins. En 2015, Arcaplanet a formalisé son engagement avec l’élaboration d’un code d’éthique et la rédaction d’un premier rapport ESG.

Motion Equity Partners est signataire de la Charte d’Engagements des Investisseurs pour la Croissance de France Invest (ex-AFIC) ainsi que des PRI (Principes pour l’Investissement Responsable) de l’ONU, marquant ainsi son engagement à intégrer les critères extra-financiers ESG dans sa gestion et sa stratégie d’investissement. Nous avons par ailleurs réaffirmé notre engagement dans la lutte contre le changement climatique avec notre décision de signer l’Initiative climat (IC20).